Susanmillers Blog

My life as a heterosexual crossdresser.

Cold snowy night but made it out for a manicure.

Okay it has been two weeks since I have been Susan much less getting out anyplace. Last Friday night I stayed home as it was really cold out and I was looking forward to going to Harvey’s Comedy club the next night but the cold weather turned into freezing rain on Saturday and we had to cancel our plans. and I was stuck at home. Portland does not do well in wintery weather. The city was pretty much shut down last weekend so I was looking forward to this weekend and of course we got hit with our biggest snow storm in decades or even maybe ever. From 6PM Tuesday till noon Wednesday I got over 15 inches of snow where I live. As a matter of fact I couldn’t get out to go to work as the ground clearance on my car was to low and I just started pushing snow till I stopped. I have never not been able to go to work. Now we are in bitter cold, day time around 30 and nights between 10 and 15 which is really cold here as a matter of fact I think we set a record for this day as far as cold. The freeways are pretty clear but the surface streets still have 2 inches of packed snow and ice. So needless to say I am not going to Portland but I do need to get a manicure as it has been 2 and a half weeks and my nails are getting a little long.

The advantage of going to a nail salon so close to where I live. that even in bad weather I can get there as it is only a few blocks. I got home from work and called to see if they were even open and they were. I got an appointment for 5:30 and started getting ready. It was a little after 5 and I was ready to go. I left home and drove carefully as it was still really icy out, even with the ice and snow it took 5 minutes or less to get there and I was able to park right in front. There was only one lady in there getting her nails done and Annie was ready for me so I didn’t have to wait. It was nice to be out and what better then at the nail salon getting my nails done. It is just so relaxing and normal thing to do.

Annie started on my nails and we had a nice conversation while she did my nails. it was a really enjoyable time, I even talked with the other lady there some mostly about the weather, She still has her chains on her car, I removed mine last night but only because most of my drive to work is freeway and that is mostly clear with just spotty ice. if I was just driving around town I would still have them on for safety. We were the only two customers here tonight I guess the weather kept a lot of people home.

Annie asked if I wanted my nails trimmed back, I probably should have but told her to just file them down a little and square them off. They aren’t overly long well maybe just a little but in two week they will be really long. I will probably have to file them down a little before I come back for my next appointment. I got the same clear gel polish with the hint of pinky rose in it. Really looks pretty. It is funny as I kept thinking about Diva Las Vegas which is coming up fast in 2 1/2 months and I will be here to get acrylic nails and longer for the trip. It was about 6:15 when I was done.

I thought about going to Sweet Home but with the ice and snow on the roads I didn’t want to drive that far so I went across the street to Starbucks which is on my way home. They were not busy just one table with 4 people at it. It is a little chilly so I ordered a hot chocolate, yes I love Starbucks Hot Chocolate. the perfect drink on a cold wintery night.

I of course had my computer and caught up on some e-mails, work and even a Facebook chat. It was a relaxing night and I stayed here till they closed at 8. There were a few times they got really busy 6 to 8 people. It was fun to people watch and of course to see if anyone I knew came in as I am only about a 1/4 mile from where I live. A couple years ago I never would have dreamed of even stopping here this close to home much less sit here for a couple hours. I guess I have grown as Susan and that is a good thing.

I do miss not being out with my friends though. I am hoping that we can get together Saturday night weather permitting. The one thing I have learned is I do not have Susan clothes designed for really cold weather. Probably because we get this type of weather so rare I just haven’t invested in winter girl clothing.

Thanks for reading and have a safe and warn night. Smile

January 15, 2017 Posted by | Manicure & pedicure | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments