Susanmillers Blog

My life as a heterosexual crossdresser.

Sunday and a trip to Dream Nails to get my nails done and a pedicure.

It is Sunday June 2nd and today I am going to Dream Nails to get my nails done and a pedicure. It has been 4 weeks sense I last got my nails done and yes it is on Sunday again as I had to work yesterday. Now last time I got them done Anna used builder gel as she said it lasted longer and was more durable, she said I could go 4 to 5 weeks instead of 2 to 3 week with acrylic. Now there is good and bad as I do enjoy going every 3 weeks but even though it is $10 more going every 4 weeks is cheaper. Yes with the neutral color I can get 4 weeks before the grow out starts to get noticeable but more important is the length. My nails grow about 1/8 inch in 3 weeks and as I get them shortened to about 1/8 when I get them done at 3 weeks they are 1/4 inch which in my male life is getting long as a matter of fact right now my nails are almost 3/8 which does look great but very noticeable. As a matter of fact I did get 2 compliments on them this week on the color. Now the builder gel has the color in it and the last time I got them done I got a color called red dragon #9 which turned out to be a very pale pink color and very noticeable up close. Well back to todays blog.

trip to Dream Nails to get my nails done

I got hone just after noon and started getting ready. I went for a casual look, browns for my smokey eye look and a pinkish mauve lipstick and of course the wig I always wear when I go to Dream Nails as I like to look the same, pretty much the only time I wear this wig. It was a little after 1 when I was ready and called Dream Nails. Anna asked if I could come in at 1:30pm which was about 20 minutes so I said yes and then took time to get some pictures and send out the group information for our Monday night zoom call and our Wednesday night dinner before I left. I got to Dream Nails at 1:25 and went in and they were busy, 5 women and a man getting pedicures. Anna was almost finished and asked if I liked the builder gel she used last time and I said yes it seemed good and wanted to try it again. I picked out my color for my pedicure, a bright red of course and by then Anna was ready for me so I sat down at her table. Anna asked if I remembered the color and I told her it was #9 but told her I wanted to try a different color, #6 on my ring finger to see how it looked. About this time a mother and daughter came in, the daughter was getting a set of acrylic nails and the mother just came with her so she sat in the chair next to her.

Anna started on my nails and prepared them for the fill and asked me if I wanted them shorter and I said yes as I mentioned above for my male life they are long so she shortened them down to a good length which when I got home later I and measured them they were about 3/8 inch long. With y nails all prepared she got out the container with the builder gel but only got out the one I said I wanted to try on 1 nail, #6 Yoshino Cherry. She opened it up and I looked at it and it really was a pinkish rose color and I wondered if this was a good choice and if I should tell her just 1 nail but I decided to just go with it and she started. Anna did the first 2 fingers on my right hand and while I put those under the light she did the same on my left hand. Then the next 2 fingers alternating hands and then the thumb. Now as she did this I did talk a little with the lady 2 chairs down with her daughter and she actually came over as she wanted to see what the gel looked like. Now it was time for Anna to smooth them out and finish them off and yes she thinned them down a little. Anna finished them off with a topcoat and they looked beautiful. They are kind of a nude color with a hint of a pinkish rose, very natural looking and I love the color. I do think if it was a little thicker the color would be more defined though. My nails looked great.

Pretty nails from Dream nails

Now I moved over for my pedicure and as Anna had another appointment so a young man who works here did my pedicure. Yes they seemed busy today as they have all been busy the whole time and there were 2 women waiting to get a pedicure at this point which was nice to see. As the man started working on my feet the young girls came over for her pedicure and sat 2 chairs down and her mom sat in the chair between us and started talking to me, her daughter also showed me her nails, they were oval shaped with a French manicure and a slight pearlish shimmer to them very pretty. Now I really do like having the women here do my nails and pedicure but what I did notice is the man was a little stronger and by that I mean when he massaged my legs and feet it felt really good and also when he used the little scrubber on my feet as there was a little more force it didn’t tickle as much so it may have even been better. Well as I got my pedicure I talked with the lady next to me and a little with her daughter. She showed me pictures of her family, turns out she lost her mom a couple weeks ago. Also about where she works and even retirement, which we talked a lot about. Her and her husband are hopping to retire in the next 3 to 5 years and as I hope to retire in the next 2 to 3 years we had a lot in common. It was a really wonderful experience here today. Don’t get me wrong I love Dream Nails and highly recommend them if you are in the Vancouver area but talking to this lady made me feel equal to her in some way, very validating of who I am.  It was a little after 3:30 when I was done, yes 2 wonderful hours here at Dream Nails. My bill was $120, $55 for my nails and $65 for the pedicure, yes prices have gone up but still well worth it to me, of course I paid the tip with cash.

I left and went to my normal Sunday Starbucks as I do need to write my blogs from last Monday, Memorial day and Wednesday night’s dinner as I am behind again. I got to Starbucks and went in and they were busy, as a matter of fact all the tables were full but one small one around the corner by the bathroom and 2 of the 6 seats along the counter by the front window. I got my drink and took the small table, of course it wasn’t good for people watching or being visible but it was all I had and I did have work to do. I wrote my blog from Monday and posted it and then worked on my blog from Wednesday night’s dinner. About 5:30 some of the people left and a couple tables by the window opened where I could plug my computer in so I moved over there and continued doing some work. I stayed here till about 6:15 before I left and as it was late I decided to stop at Panda Express and get dinner to take home. I got in line and as I stood there I saw a lady waiting for her food wave at me and it was Lynn, she was also picking up dinner as she and Jan don’t live that far from me. She got her food and stopped by and chatted with me briefly on her way out. It was nice to see her. I got my food and went home for the evening. It was a good day out and yes any day I can go get my nails done is good. now I am looking forward to Monday as I have the day off and plan on some Susan time in the afternoon and yes for our zoom call. Sorry this is a little longer than normal.

Thanks for reading my blog and sharing this part of my life with me.

trip to Dream Nails to get my nails done

June 4, 2024 - Posted by | Acrylic nails, Dream Nails, nail salon | , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. […] drinks, this one does not have a drive through so it is perfect for watching people. I worked on my blog from Sunday when I went and got my nails done and also a pedicure. Yes going to the nail salon is one of […]

    Pingback by Day off on Monday so I will be able to be Dressed as Susan for our zoom call tonight « Susanmillers Blog | June 8, 2024 | Reply


Leave a comment