Susanmillers Blog

My life as a heterosexual crossdresser.

Well I made it out again.

Well it is cold out again here but still made it to Starbucks as something warm to drink while I catch up on things on my computer is nice. Someone e-mailed me and asked why I like to go to Starbucks so much which got me thinking. I don’t necessarily think it is Starbucks by itself it is more that when I get dressed up as Susan I don’t just want to sit at home. Now I am not saying there is anything wrong with that as I did it for many years but now I want to be out. It is funny as it has been a little over 2 years now that I have been going out almost every week to Starbucks. I think I picked Starbucks as they didn’t seem like a place that would not be very busy as the first one I went to had a drive through. Not long after I started going there they were closing early for a remodel and I wound up at the one I go to now. The girls that worked here then were just so nice and I felt really safe and welcomed and even now the girls that work here are awesome. Even the customers have never bothered me or made me feel uncomfortable and I am not the only regular here, there is a group of 4 woman that seem to be here every week when I come on Thursday and then there is a couple that seem to come in almost every time I am here around 8, funny as I was worried about being here so much, nice to know others do also.

I think it has also really helped my self confidence, just the couple hours I spend here and seem to at least be accepted for who I am has done wonders. When I first started coming here I had to park right in front and would watch to make sure they were not too busy, if so I would wait in my car but over time this has changed. I don’t really think about it anymore, tonight I am parked at the end of the building in front of another shop. I pulled in and parked and put my keys in my purse grabbed my computer and just walked in. Never really thought about the other cars that pulled in at the same time or the fact others were walking in behind me and in front of me, I just walked in and took my place in line. Susan has really grown over the last couple years.

I think meeting Alice wow 8 to 10 years ago and being able to go out with her when she was in Portland and she was so relaxed about it that I really felt this was okay. Then about 4 years ago I met Cassandra and joined her Yahoo group and that really made it easy to go out as I knew there would be others out and I would not be alone. Having a support network is so wonderful and I have met so many wonderful people who I am glad to call my friends. Knowing you are not alone really does make all the difference.

Well any way I think going out to Starbucks is kind of a normal thing any woman might do, it is a quiet place where you can sit and work on your computer while having a nice warm drink, yes it is a little bit expensive but when you think about the whole experience, spending a few hours out in public for the price of a couple drinks it really is a cost effective night out. That being said I also love to go out with my friends as having that time together really helps center me, having friends who accept me as I am without questions is such a wonderful thing.

I guess it really does not matter where I go any more as now it is about having time out as Susan. As a matter of fact this week will be my 4th week in a row that I will make it out 3 times, tomorrow I will be out with my friends at the P-Club which is always a fun night and then on Saturday we have our winter Gala party which Kathy and Mandie are hosting again this year. They are opening their home up for us to have a party at, now as much as I have grown in the past few years I am still not at a point where I would host a party at my house. I am still worried what my neighbors would think or say. It is the one fear I have not overcome, people who only know me as male finding out about this hobby of mine. Now I have come close on several occasions to being caught and in a way I almost wish one of them would catch me as then it would be out. I almost think the fear of it is more than actually being caught. After all once my neighbors new I would be so much more free to be Susan. I would not have to worry about my neighbors being home or outside. I also know at some point this will happen, maybe not right now as the weather is cold and wet and it gets dark so early but during the summer when it is light out till 10 and everyone is outside enjoying the weather. This past summer I had several close calls and as I am going out way more now than I use to just that many more chances I will be caught.

Well enough about that, I am still waiting to here if I got my vacation time next April for Diva Las Vegas, turns out there is a chance I will not be able to get the time off do to things going on at work which would be so sad as I really am looking forward to going. I told my boss I would really like to have that time off if at all possible and he said he would do his best so I am hopeful, should know by the end of the year. The last two years have been so much fun going to DLV and I would hate to miss this year as I am looking forward to seeing some of my friends again plus I have really been pushing some of my friends here to go. I would feel so bad if now it was me that couldn’t go.

Well need to get some work done before they close here. Thanks for stopping by and reading.

December 8, 2011 - Posted by | Starbucks | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. and certainly the shy Susan is no more.
    Hugs
    alice

    Comment by Alice Green | December 8, 2011 | Reply

  2. Thanks Alice, Hope you can get up to Portland again soon, miss seeing you. You really did have an impact on my life.
    Hugs

    Comment by susanmiller64 | December 8, 2011 | Reply

    • And it has been great to see you change from the shy to the outgoing Susan even if you don’t match Cass in that area.
      Hugs
      alice

      Comment by Alice Green | December 8, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

