Susanmillers Blog

My life as a heterosexual crossdresser.

Great idea for fast beautiful nails

Well over the last few months I have had several people ask me about how I do my nails. I try never to go out without long pretty nails as I think that is the most feminine thing you can have. Now nothing can beat going to a nail salon and getting acrylic nails, one of my favorite things to do but as most of my life I am male except for a few hours a week I had to find a new way to have long beautiful nails that was fast and easy to put on and also take off without damaging my nails or leaving traces that people might notice when I am not Susan.

The first problem was finding nails that would fit my fingers. Now I am lucky as my fingers are not really that much bigger so I started looking around. For the most part I have used the KISS brand nails and what I found was the largest 5 sizes fit each of my fingers. I was walking through Wal-Mart one day and they had a box of 200 nails in 11 sizes for $7 so I bought it. I have also seen them at Walgreens and Rite-aid stores about the same price. Now out of the 200 nails I was able to get 8 sets of nails which works out to less than $1.00 a set.

Once you have your nails you need to paint them. Right now I have 5 set done in 4 different colors, my favorite color I have to sets. Now there are two ways to paint them, the easiest and fastest is to get a piece or ½ dowel, which you can get at Home Depot or Lowes. You can attach the nails to the dowel with mounting clay from any craft store. Works good as you can line up 4 sets at a time down the length of the dowel, this way you can paint one color, roll the dowel and do the next color and by the time you get back to the first set you can start the second coat or top coat. Now the best way but slower is to put the nails on (see how I do this below). Once you have them on you can paint them on your fingers while watching TV or a movie. This is a really fun way to spend an evening. Once you have several sets in different colors you are all set and you can easily change nail color depending on your outfit or look.

Now there are many ways to attach nails glue being the easiest and the way most do them but this is really hard on your nails especially if only for a couple hours and can damage your nails really bad if you do this a few times a week. What I use is really simple and allows me to put my nails on or take them off in less than 5 minutes and I can reuse the nails many times. Now I would love to take credit for this idea but I think it was Barb (member in our group) who came up with it and told Cassandra who in turn told me. We use Scotch 1 inch indoor outdoor mounting tape which you can buy at Home Depot, yes girl beauty supplies now available at Home Depot. The tape is a little think so it leaves a little gap on the edges but unless someone looks really close they won’t even notice and it really holds the nails on tight. You cut little squares about and place on each nail, peel the tape off and stick to your nails. It is just that simple. The tape holds really well even in water. The one drawback is if the nail comes off the tape won’t stick again so you need a new piece of tape. Now I have been using this method twice a week sense March and only once have I lost a nail, Cassandra has lost a couple but it works really well. When you want to remove the nails just pull down on the tip and while slipping a wood cuticle stick in from the base of the nail and gently lift up till the nails come off. Once off scrape the tape off and put your nails away for the next time you want to use them. If you buy the big roll of tape, about $15 for 37 feet it will last you over a year and sense you can reuse the nails many many time. What a great way to have long beautiful nails that any girl would love. Have fun and I hope you find this helpful. Will not work on French nails or really light color nail polish as the tape is gray and will show through, Reds and darker colors work really well, Pinks if you put on several coats.

Should be back out at Starbuck’s on Wednesday night so will post again then.
Big Thanks to Cassandra for telling me about this and for Barb with coming up with the idea.

January 2, 2011 - Posted by | Advice and tips | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. […] do them. I have blogged about how I do the nails before so if you are interested just read my blog great idea for fast beautiful nails. Even Lana was interested so you know you are doing something right when a GG likes your tips, yes […]

    Pingback by Spending time with friends at the P-Club « Susanmillers Blog | June 16, 2012 | Reply

  2. Great tips, Susan xx

    Comment by TinaCortina | June 17, 2012 | Reply

  3. […] thanked us for the advice, if you want to know more about how I do my nails here is a link “great idea for fast beautiful nails“. Any way we talked for a bit about nails just like 2 school girls […]

    Pingback by Another new place on Friday night « Susanmillers Blog | July 21, 2012 | Reply

  4. […] Jan, Lynn, Jenn, Kelly and Robyn showed up also so now we had 15 of us there. This was really good considering we were at a new place that we had never been to before. It was nice to get a chance to talk with everyone but as we were spread across 3 tables I kept moving from table to table. I chatted with Samantha for a bit, she had tried doing her nails the way I do but the tape wouldn’t hold. Turns out she bought the regular mounting tape and not the Scots indoor outdoor mounting tape, this tape is water proof and holds up so much better, you can see a picture of the tape in my blog “Great idea for fast beautiful nails“. […]

    Pingback by A new place on Friday 52nd street sports bar « Susanmillers Blog | September 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

