Susanmillers Blog

My life as a heterosexual crossdresser.

Friday night at Embers with friends 1-15-2010

Well Susan made it out again even with all the rain we are having here in Portland. As a crossdresser I really don’t like the rain as it messes up my hair and makeup something my male side never has to worry about. I went downtown Portland to Embers to meet up with all my friends, Friday seems to be the big night when most of us can get out. As luck would have it I found a parking spot right across the street so it was a short quick dash across the street in the rain which was nice as a couple weeks ago I had to park 3 blocks away. When I got inside Teresa was the only one there from our group so I went and joined her and another woman (GG genetic woman). Teresa introduced us and it turns out it was Teresa’s ex wife, they are still really close and she excepts Teresa as she is, how cool is that.

Soon others started to show up, Lisa, Maya and Bev came in and our table was soon full. Teresa joked with a guy sitting by himself at the next table that we may have to join him as our table was full and we knew more from our group would be there. The guy smiled and went over to the bar and gave us his table which was so nice of him. Cassandra and Peggy were the next to arrive and we spread to two tables. Lea and her date (I think her name is Amanda I am really bad at names), Amy, Siobhan Cheri and a few others arrived and we spread to a third table and at this point I gave up trying to keep track of everyone (if I left you out sorry). I think we had 20 t-girls there again and it was so much fun.

Siobhan and I went up by the pool table and took some pictures. I think this is one of the most fun things that t-girls like to do. I have hardly any pictures of my male self but over a 1,000 of Susan, she is a camera hog and loves to have her picture taken. You can check them out some of my pictures on my flickr page. There is also a link to Siobhan flickr page in the description of the picture of us together. Peggy took this picture for us thanks Peggy.

By the time the show started Embers was really pretty busy, most of the tables were full. Jersey-Jo Amber Scities who hosts the Friday show does a really good job and the show is a lot of fun. If you are in the Portland area you should check it out. They have them Wednesday through Saturday night and all are good but I like the Friday show best, may only be because that is the night I can get out. Well during the show Jersey made an announcement that Embers was going to host the first Miss Portland T-girl contest on Friday April 30. I guess Peggy & Jersey have been working on this and now they have it all put together. It sounds like it would be a lot of fun I just don’t know what I could do for the talent part plus I have terrible stage fright, go figure a guy who likes to dress up as a woman and go out in public is afraid of being on stage in front of people. Even so it sound like so much fun I think I will have to try and compete. A big thanks for Jersey and Peggy for working out all the details and making this happen and to Embers for hosting it.

We also had a chance to talk about Diva Las Vegas and start finalizing plans. Seems right now we have 5 confirmed going and also three other couples (6 more) that want to go and are trying to work it outs so they can. This would be great as it would give us 11 from Portland in Las Vegas. This would be so much fun and give us all more real world experience. I think that is great to the Trans community as it gives us the chance to interact with people who may never have met a Trans person and may have no idea who we are or worse have a bad idea about us. I think the more we are out in public the better it will be for us in the future plus it is just so much fun. I am already thinking about getting my nails done and what color I should get (probably a red color which is my favorite). I really hope this is Diva Las Vegas biggest year with the most t-girls there. Last year attendance was down just a little with the economy but it also makes it very reasonable to go. If you are a Trans person, t-girl, crossdresser, TG, transgender or transsexual, however you term yourself or like to be called if you can go you should. Check out their web page for more information.

One last thing before I go, there is a lot of discussion on who we are (TG, transgender, t-girl, Transsexual, crossdresser and the like). My opinion (and only that nothing more) is this. A crossdresser is someone who likes to wear the clothing associated with the opposite sex. I am fine being called this as I do love to wear woman’s clothes. They may or may not dress completely up as I do it may be one item only. Now for the harder on transgender or TG this is someone who crosses gender lines, they like to dress up and present themselves as the opposite sex again I am fine with this term as I do dress up completely and present myself as a woman. Transsexual is someone who wants to be the opposite sex, either they feel they were born the wrong sex or just feel the need to be the opposite sex. Now for me this one does not apply as I have no desire to make any permanent changes (hormones or sex change surgery). Now I do not take offence if someone refers to me this way I just explain who I am and what the terms mean. The last term is T-girl and I think this one has the most confusion. It simply applies to the whole Trans community, it is an all encompassing umbrella that we all fall under weather you are just wearing one piece of clothing to having a sex change. It would be like taking Oregonian, Washingtonians & Californians all from different states but we are all American (T-Girls). We all bend the gender line from a little to a full change and I am fine with this term. But in the end I think too much is put on what we are called and not who we are. When I am out as Susan that is who I am, a person with likes and dislike, feelings and no different from anyone else so if you run into a t-girl, transgendered person, transsexual or crossdresser and are unsure how to address them here is what you do. Walk up and say “Hi my name is ____, what is your name? They will smile back and tell you their name and now instead of a term you have a name and possibly a new friend. I think you will find that we are all pretty much the same and with the exception of how we like to dress no different from your current family and friends, we may even be your family and friends. Wow I got a little off track and got carried away.

Thanks for reading my blog and feel free to leave a comment. Whether you agree with me or not I will allow all comments as long as they are respectful and not ex-rated as I want to keep my blog as clean as possible. I am not looking for everyone to agree with me but an exchange of thoughts and ideas as I think that is where change happens. I learn and see you point of view and in return you do the same and in the process we grow in understanding.

January 16, 2010 - Posted by | CD, crossdress, crossdresser, crossdressing, Las Vegas, T-girl, transgender | , , , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Great page Susan!

    Comment by sarashannonuk | February 10, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

