Susanmillers Blog

My life as a heterosexual crossdresser.

Merry Christmas Vs. Happy Holiday

Merry Christmas vs. Happy Holiday

It just amazes me how this has become such an issue. I posted Merry Christmas to all my friends in a group I belong to and it started a whole discussion on Merry Christmas verses Happy Holidays. One of the post was “why do everyone assume everyone else celebrates Christmas and why should we have this shoved on us”. To be fair I also know people who are just the same the other way, to them it is Merry Christmas not Happy Holidays. I don’t get it. You never hear this at other holidays. I know people who do not celebrate Halloween but it is fine to wish them a Happy Halloween. Same goes for the rest, Easter, Thanksgiving, 4th of July Cinco Demayo, Chanukah, Kwanzaa, or Festivs. I have friends who wish me Happy Chanukah which I do not celebrate but it does not bother me. They do and they have the right to and they also have the right of freedom of speech to say that. That is one of the great things about our country; we have the right of freedom of speech, religion and a bunch of other rights. We truly live in the greatest Country in the world.

No matter what you believe or celebrate the fact is today is Christmas and is celebrated and recognized all over the world, not by every person I agree on that. How can it be bad to wish someone a Merry Christmas? For me it is Christmas day and that includes the religious side of it and all that goes along with it. When I wish you a Merry Christmas I am not forcing my beliefs on you or trying to make you change it is just my way of greeting you on this day. As I said I have that right of freedom of speech as do you so you can wish me a Happy Holiday and I am fine with that. I will not make you wish me a Merry Christmas.

The simple fact is your rights are no more important than mine or anyone else. You have no more right to tell me what to say or how to say it than I have to tell you. Simply saying Merry Christmas is not forcing religion on you. I will continue to wish people Merry Christmas, if that is what you celebrate and or believe then fine, wish me Merry Christmas back. If not wish me Happy Holidays, Happy Festivs, Happy Santa Day or any other thing you celebrate or believe. I promise I will not take offence at your beliefs, traditions or whatever you celebrate I just ask for the same consideration. We all have differences but we are all the same too. We have taken being politically correct way too far. We all need to just lighten up.

So with that said, Merry Christmas to all and may your day be filled with family, fun and Love no matter how you choose to celebrate today.

Sorry for going off topic of my blog but I just felt Ithis was important for me to say how I feel.

December 25, 2009 - Posted by | CD, Christmas, crossdress, crossdresser, crossdressing, Holiday, T-girl, transgender | , , , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Susan,
    Again I am about a year late in responding to this post but I just recently came across your wonderful blog.

    You hit the nail on the head. Political correctness has gone way too far and one of the unintended consequences is that our right and ability to speak freely is being infringed.

    I have a small sign in my office that I post at this time of year. It reads simply, We Celebrate Christmas”.

    Let me wish you and your family and friends a Very Merry Christmas and a Happy and fun filled New Year.

    Regards,
    Pat

    Comment by Pat Scales | December 22, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

